Never Such Innocence

NEVER SUCH INNOCENCE is a narrative recital of poems, readings and music from the First World War, first performed in November 2016 as part of the Somme 100 commemorations and now touring nationwide to theatres, festivals, concert venues and schools.

Actor Christopher Kent and pianist Gamal Khamis look back at the writing and music that emerged from the period, juxtaposing the words of writers like Wilfred Owen, Edward Thomas, Siegfried Sassoon and Vera Brittain with piano music by composers such as Elgar, Ravel, Debussy, Frank Bridge and Ivor Gurney. 

In a moving and thought-provoking sequence, they trace a narrative from the early innocence and nostalgia of pre-war life, through initial patriotic optimism, to the growing realisation of what was happening at the front and the deep sadness and loss that followed across Europe. As well as poetry the programme includes extracts from letters, diaries and contemporary accounts, plus material drawn from personal family history.

Gamal Khamis_Innocence7.jpg

NEVER SUCH INNOCENCE is available for booking for concert societies, festivals, schools and theatres. Please contact innocence@ckuk.com or +44 7850 595089 to enquire about availability

 

 

FORTHCOMING PERFORMANCES:

2017

Thursday 18th October, 1.15pm - Christ’s School, Richmond

Thursday 9th November 4.30pm & 7pm - Kingswood School, Bath

Friday 10th November, 7.30pm - Clapham Chamber Concerts, St Paul’s Church, London, SW4 0DX

2018

Saturday 17th March, 7.30pm. - All Saints Church, Isleworth, TW7 6BE

Sunday 18th March, 7.30pm - Jermyn Street Theatre, London

Sunday 27th May, 2.15pm - English Music Festival, Silk Hall, Radley College

Tuesday 3rd July, 7.30pm - Festival of Chichester, Oxmarket Centre of Arts, Chichester

Friday 13th July, 7.30pm - JAM on the Marsh Festival, St Dunstans Church, Romney Marsh

Saturday 8th September, 7.30pm - St Chad’s, Shrewsbury (in aid of Medic Malawi)

Wednesday 12th September, 7pm – Freemasons Hall, Covent Garden, London

Thursday 13th September, 7pm – Freemasons Hall, Covent Garden, London

Friday 21st September, 7.30pm - Village Hall, Sutton Veny, Wiltshire BA12 7AP

Sunday 30th September, 4pm - Sandham Memorial Chapel, Burghclere

Saturday 20th October 7.30pm - Canterbury Festival, Sarah Thorne Theatre, Broadstairs

Saturday 3rd November 7.30pm - Bath Recitals, St Michael's Church, Bath

Monday 5th November 7.30pm - Royal Overseas League, London

Sunday 11th November 7.30pm - St Mary's, Perivale

Saturday 2nd December 8pm - OSO Arts Centre, Barnes Green, London, SW13 0LF

 

“A very special, moving and immensely absorbing production”

"The most amazing evening... one of the most moving and thought provoking events I have ever attended."

“Beautifully nuanced show – tender, moving, angry”

“A spell-binding evening. So compelling to watch and listen to”

“The choice of poetry and music was perfect and the narrative and underlying story very moving…I don't think there was a dry eye in the house."

“I saw your wonderful performance tonight. Incredibly moving and a really beautifully curated and performed piece.”